Friday, November 1, 2013

Foundation: The Collegium Chronicles Volume 1 - Mercedes Lackey

The Collegium Chronicles: Foundation
Mercedes Lackey
DAW Books
Copyright: 2008

The product description:
In this chronicle of the early history of Valdemar, a thirteen-year­old orphan named Magpie escapes a life of slavery in the gem mines when he is chosen by one of the magical companion horses of Valdemar to be trained as a herald. Thrust into the center of a legend in the making, Magpie discovers talents he never knew he had-and witnesses the founding of the great Heralds' Collegium.
Yes, I'm doing another re-read of this series from Volume One. This time it's thanks to reading Bastion, the latest book in the series. I found on reading that one that I really couldn't remember a lot of the earlier events it was based on. So, back to the beginning again. My previous reviews of Foundation are: My 2008 review (the original), from 2012, and from March 2010.

Even though I've read the book several times now, it's still an enjoyable read, although Foundation really is the first book in the series, setting things up but not resolving any of them. The more I read it, the more I feel that way.

This is definitely one of the books/series that serves as a good introduction to the whole world of Valdemar though as no knowledge from any of the other books is assumed. Which is not always the case with some of the other books/trilogies.

So as not to repeat myself from my previous reviews, I'm just going to wind things up here and say I enjoyed reading Foundation yet again and didn't find it boring at all.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...