Friday, May 6, 2011

A Couple of New Arrivals

Picked up a couple of ARCs yesterday. One I got through work (The Lion Wakes - book one in The Kingdom series) and the other was waiting at home for me: Queen By Right.

Queen by Right
Anne Easter Smith
Simon & Schuster (Canada) Touchstone Originals (USA)
ISBN: 978-1416550471
Release Date: May 10, 2011

The product description:
From the award-winning author of A Rose for the Crown, Daughter of York, and The King’s Grace comes another masterful historical novel—the story of Cecily of York, mother of two kings and the heroine of one of history’s greatest love stories. Anne Easter Smith’s novels are beloved by readers for their ability “to grab you, sweep you along with the story, and make you fall in love with the characters.” * In Cecily Neville, duchess of York and ancestor of every English monarch to the present day, she has found her most engrossing character yet.History remembers Cecily of York standing on the steps of the Market Cross at Ludlow, facing an attacking army while holding the hands of her two young sons. Queen by Right reveals how she came to step into her destiny, beginning with her marriage to Richard, duke of York, whom she meets when she is nine and he is thirteen. Raised together in her father’s household, they become a true love match and together face personal tragedies, pivotal events of history, and deadly political intrigue. All of England knows that Richard has a clear claim to the throne, and when King Henry VI becomes unfit to rule, Cecily must put aside her hopes and fears and help her husband decide what is right for their family and their country. Queen by Right marks Anne Easter Smith’s greatest achievement, a book that every fan of sweeping, exquisitely detailed historical fiction will devour. 
This is a book I'm definitely looking forward to reading. I've looked at Anne Easter Smith's other novels before, but have yet to get around to reading them - mostly because they seem to be set a bit later than I'm really passionate about. On the other hand, they sell well, and I'm definitely intrigued. I've heard people saying good things about her other three books before.

The Lion Wakes (Kingdom series Book One)
Robert Low
HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 978-0007337910
Release Date: July 1, 2011

The product description:
Robert Low moves from the Vikings of his acclaimed Oathsworn novels to the making of Scotland in this first novel in a major new series
It is 1296 and Scotland is in turmoil—the old king, Alexander III, has died after falling off his horse one dark and stormy night. Edward I of England, desperate to keep control of his northern borders, arranges for John Baliol, a weak man who Edward knows he can manipulate, to take leadership of Scotland. But unrest is rife and many are determined to throw off the shackles of England. Among those men is Robert the Bruce—darkly handsome, young, angry, and obsessed by his desire to win Scotland's throne. He will fight for the freedom of the Scots until the end. But there are many rival factions and the English are a strong and fearsome opponent. The story culminates in the Battle of Falkirk which proves to be the beginning of a rivalry that will last for decades.
I'm looking forward to reading this one too - even though I have yet to read anything by Robert Low. But, this period in history is one that I find intriguing. There are a few other books about it reviewed on All Booked Up already. And, Low's other books look good too.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...