Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Take A Thief - Mercedes Lackey

Take A Thief
Mercedes Lackey
DAW Books
Copyright Date: 2002

The amazon.com product description:
Skif, a young orphan living with a miserly uncle, is taken in by a gang of pickpockets and becomes a master of the thieves' trade, until he is chosen by one of Valdemar's magical horses and is transformed into a herald for the queen...
I hadn't realized Take A Thief came out so long ago. Skif is one of those characters who pops up in several of Mercedes Lackey's Valdemar novels, including the Heralds of Valdemar trilogy (Arrows of the Queen, Arrow's Flight, Arrow's Fall), the Mage Winds books (Winds of Fate, Winds of Change and Winds of Fury). As a result, it's rather nice to know his story from the beginning.

We knew he was a thief, here's how he became one. And, how does a thief get chosen? Well, that's a funny story - one Skif didn't think was as funny at the time. I certainly did though. As I also did with the snorer's chorus he ran into on one of his adventures.

I definitely enjoyed the read (or re-read as it were), though as I said, I'd forgotten how long ago the book came out. I definitely hadn't read it in a while, so it was rather new again.

Take A Thief serves as a good introduction to the world of Valdemar if you're new to the series, explaining who the Heralds of Valdemar are, the Companions and the roles that both serve in the running of the kingdom. It's also a book that's good for anyone from young adult on into adult.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...